San Diego State University


The School of Nursing recognizes the achievements of its emeritus faculty for their many contributions in building its programs and educating its outstanding graduates.


Barbara BlackBarbara Black* was a professor of psychiatric nursing from 1970 to 1992. Her service and memory was recently honored with the establishment of the Barbara Black Memorial Scholarship by the Community Research Foundation on whose board she served.


Jan Heineken
Jan Heineken served on the faculty from 1980 – 2006 in a variety of positions including teacher/researcher, Graduate Advisor, Associate Director and Interim Director. She retired from SDSU as Professor in 2006 and assumed the role of Associate Dean at the School of Nursing, Oregon Health and Science University (Ashland and Klamath Falls campuses).


John Lantz was director of the School of Nursing from 1986 to 1994, after which he returned to teaching as a faculty member. He retired from SDSU in 1997 and assumed the role of Dean at the School of Nursing at the University of San Francisco School of Nursing. He served in role from 1997 to 2007 and was awarded Professor Emeritus in 2007. His leadership was recognized by the American Association College of Nursing, when he was awarded Emeritus status in this organization. He returned to SDSU and served as the Interim Director for the academic year 2011-2012.


Martha ShivelyMartha Shively was faculty from 1978-2003. She held a joint position as faculty member and as Associate Chief Nursing Service for Research at the VA San Diego Healthcare System. She has maintained her position with the VA and is conducting research related to patient activation and self-management in chronic illness. She continues to mentor students in research.



Catherine ToderoCatherine Todero served as the Director of the School of Nursing from 2006-2011, where she was also founding Director of the VA Nursing Academy (VANA) program. During her tenure she was given a TOP 25 University Award from SDSU for her many innovations and contributions to the University and School of Nursing. Among her achievements was an appointment by the Governor to the State Board of Registered Nursing where she chaired the Education and Licensing Committee.


Patricia WahlPatricia Wahl served as the Director of the School of Nursing for 15 years, and retired in 2006. Among her accomplishments, Wahl was involved with the creation of Nurses Now, which resulted in a 70 percent increase in enrollment in the nursing program. The City of San Diego proclaimed May 10, 2006 to be Patricia Wahl Day!



Dolores WozniakDolores Wozniak served as dean of the College of Health and Human Services until her retirement in 2004 after 28 years at SDSU. As director of the School of Nursing, she implemented a graduate nursing program and a health services credential program. Wozniak served as associate dean, acting dean and interim dean of the College of Health and Human Services before her appointment to the college’s top post in 1994. She received a meritorious service medal, an achievement medal and a commendation medal for service to the U.S. Army, in which she served as LTC Colonel of the U.S. Army Nurse Corps Reserve.

  • Broom, Betty L. (1979-2003)
  • Dillon, M. Constance (1964-1992)
  • Flagg, Joan M. (1969-2002)
  • Freitas, Lorraine (1984-2004)
  • Gulino, Claire (1982-1991)
  • Hines, Jeanette D. (1977-1991)
  • Laiho, Ethel E. (1964-1982)
  • LaMonica, Grace (1966-1992) Leslie, Norman
  • Lookinland, Sandra (1981-2004)
  • Loveridge, Catherine E. (1983-2003)
  • Moffett, Myrna J. (1968-1998)
  • Morris, Rita I. (1990-2002)
  • Riegel, Barbara Jean (1984-2002)
  • Thomas, Beatrice A. (1954-1977)
  • Verderber, Anne (1971-1992)

* deceased